RSS

WHY ARE WE LIKE THIS?

18 May

I sent a very important and urgent email to a government agency on Wednesday last week. I sent the email because the phone number listed on its website was not functioning. 

I was happy when I received immediate response that read: Thank you, we will get back to you soonest.

I never knew it was an automated responder. 

I sent another email (a reminder) just now only to get the same response. No salutation, no subscription, no complimentary close… Nothing. It was robotic.

With the immediacy of the response and the ‘word for word’ response, it dawned on me that it was an automated response.

I’ve always got immediate human response and assistance for all email and phone communications with private and public offices abroad. Same is not happening in my country.

What if the email is about somebody’s life on the line?

Why can’t Nigeria government agencies act normal for once?

Why list an email on the website when nobody is assigned to monitor it?

Is this normal?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2015 in Opinion

 

4 responses to “WHY ARE WE LIKE THIS?

  1. Femi Oluwajana

    May 18, 2015 at 2:04 PM

    We are just in country where people find it difficult to do the right thing.

     
    • Femi Olabisi

      May 19, 2015 at 9:26 PM

      It is very wrong. It is very painful and unethical when people fail to do simple thing but are always ready to blame the govt for everything.

      Everybody needs to do their part if we intend to progress as a nation.

       
  2. Sean

    May 20, 2015 at 9:10 AM

    Normalcy starts with us as individuals. I guess if you take the lead, you’d be amazed how many people will be influenced positively. It starts with you; take the lead.

     
  3. Femi Olabisi

    May 20, 2015 at 10:28 AM

    Sean,

    I try to do my best every time and there’s no room for such in my office because I work in a privately-owned organisation. This happens most in government offices.

    Coincidentally, I’m second in command where I work and I have exclusive access to official email. I monitor it 24/7.

    Except when I am very busy, I respond to all email enquiries without delay.

     

Leave a Reply

 
