RSS

SOCIAL MEDIA CAN MAKE, UNMAKE YOU!

11 Dec

  
I woke up today doing my usual morning touring of the Internet and social media – Twitter, Facebook, reading saved news and articles in Pocket and inescapable response to messages on BBM, FB and WhatsApp (God knows I hate chatting: but I’m morally bound to respond to some sane messages – and I have my ways of circumventing opprobrious ones).

Then I stumbled (or was it deliberate) on Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Facebook wall, where my name featured alongside big fish – call it fishes if it suits – Prof. Pius Adesanmi, Gimba Katanda, erudite Prof. Fola Lasisi, Dayo Williams (the Internet son of man), among others. It was nominations for interneteering, wailing (and hailing), social medial presence, non-rudimentary use of the Queen’s language, etcetera.

My name featured in two categories: CREATIVE USE OF ENGLISH LANGUAGE and JARUS FACEBOOK FRIEND OF THE YEAR 2015.

It was ontologically elevating.

I had about a fortnight ago got recognised by a very ‘Big Fish’, resident in the United States, for commandeering English to his happiness. Details of what transpired between us is very private.

Why am I writing and/or saying this? Simple answer: be wary of what you say or write online.

It can make you; and can also unmake you.

Femi Olabis is on Twitter: @Femiolas; and blogs at http://www.femiolas.worpress.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2015 in Opinion

 

Leave a Reply

 
